Awesomely Bad Breakup

Nothing will ever compare to the devastation I felt watching Aaron Boone round the bases after hitting the series winning home run for the Yankees in extra innings of Game 7 of the 2003 ALCS–the Red Sox had the game won, were so close to advancing to the World Series for the first time in nearly 20 years, and I was living in NYC with all Yankees fans for coworkers.

Sure, the Patriots losing the World Series completely sucks but now I look at sports a bit differently and take defeat way less personally. After all, I’m not actually on any of the teams…

I look at devastating letdowns such as the Patriots losing the Super Bowl last night like a girlfriend breaking up with me: the shame of telling my friends “actually, she broke up with me” when asked where she is IS MY OWN VAULT for being silly enough to tell my buddies how amazing she was to begin with. I didn’t lose last night and the only thing that really kills me is that I ran my mouth to all my friends about how awesome they were–and now have to deal with email after email and SMS after SMS.

Leave a comment

Filed under art/film/culture, marketing/advertising

Leave a Reply

