Ugly Casanova’s “Spilled Milk Factory”

Around 1997, when Matador’s compilation What’s Up Matador was released, I was also listening to Modest Mouse’s albums This Is A Long Drive For Someone With Nothing To Think About & The Lonesome Crowded West non-stop, I mean, NON-STOP.

I’m reminded of this because Captain’s Dead also posted a complete Ugly Casanova show, which is essentially Isaac Brock from Modest Mouse, Tim Rutili from Califone (who you’ll hear singing on “Spilled Milk Factory”, Pall Jenkins from Black Heart Procession, John Orth from Holopaw, and Brian Deck.

Ugly Casanova’s album Sharpen Your Teeth is easily one of my 10 favorite albums of all time.

Maybe the first time you hear a song should be the way a studio made it sound but I think Isaac just kills his verses:


Mumbled had a rumble and I stumbled down the stairs smelling just like lumber but my baby don’t care we went uptown downtown everywhere between there was so much spilled milk I could’ve had a factory…


Sweat basted teenagers looking all around I see your babies crawling all over the ground they go ‘goo-goo, gaa-gaa’, what the hell’s that mean not even I know where I am so don’t go look for me…


Things go dark, light, dark, light, day after day the flies weren’t invited but they wouldn’t go away the blanks were filled out filled in but never complete there were so many dreams that there was no time to sleep…


Not a point to make dodged a bullet dredged the lake I had one bite of wedding cake and I about threw up I see bridesmaids bridesmaids hunting for a man “ONE MORE DRINK AND I THINK I’LL MARRY HIM!!!”

Here is the setlist for the Ugly Casanova show that Captain’s Dead posted (Right-Click to Save)
1. Intro
2. Pacifico
3. Diggin’ Holes in the Water
4. Spilled Milk Factory
5. Cat Faces
6. Smoke Like Ribbons
7. Parasites
8. Baby Clean Conscience
9. Hotcha Girls
10. Things I Don’t Remember
11. Diamonds on the Face of Evil
12. Ice On Sheets
13. Barnacles
14. Styrofoam Boot

A couple of those tracks, that appeared on Sharpen Your Teeth, “Baby Clean Conscience” and “Parasites”, also appeared on Paracite Sessions which was recorded at Calvin Johnson’s Dub Narcotic Studio in 1993.

Here are the tracks from the Paracite Sessions:
1. Paracites Will Be Excited When You’re Dead
2. Baby’s Clean Conscience
3. Four Fingered Fisherman
4. Untitled
5. Every Penny Fed Car
6. Untitled
7. Untitled
8. Cowboy Dan

gills of wine slow on five i know

when you’re railing on another baby.

Mobile post sent by Chris using Utterz. Replies. mp3

Leave a comment

Filed under other

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s