REUNION CONFIRMED: Blur to Play Hyde Park Show

utterli-image

The Guardian reported this morning that, after months of speculation, Blur will reunite summer ’09 for their first performance since 2000:

Unlike many a recent rock reunion, the reformed Blur of 2009 will actually consist of the original members: Damon Albarn, Graham Coxon, Alex James and Dave Rowntree. It will be their first performance together since the Royal Festival Hall in 2000.

“It just felt right again,” Albarn told NME.com. “There’s something for us to do again, we’re not completely useless or pointless, we’ve got a reason to exist.”

Formed in Colchester in 1989, Blur broke into the mainstream in the mid-1990s with hits including Parklife, Charmless Man and Song 2. They became one of the two defining bands of the Britpop era, famously pitting their Country House against Oasis’ Roll With It in a chart battle that ended with Blur victorious.

After recording seven studio albums and notching up two No 1 singles, the group have been on indefinite hiatus since 2003 following the release of their critically acclaimed seventh album Think Tank. Since the band’s split, Albarn has found success on various projects including animated pop group Gorillaz, supergroup the Good, the Bad & the Queen, the Africa Express series, and the opera Monkey: Journey to the West. Guitarist Coxon has found modest success as a solo artist, bassist James reinvented himself as a cheese-maker, while drummer Dave Rowntree tried unsuccessfully to become a Labour councillor in Westminster.

Albarn had previously started rumours of a reunion after telling Radio 1 last month: “It’s very possible I’ll go back to Blur, it really is very possible … it’s fantastic to get my old friend back.” However, this is the first time the band have confirmed that they are reforming.

Here’s a live version of “Tender” from 13, Blur’s sixth studio album.

Blur “Tender” lyrics:

Tender is the night
Lying by your side
Tender is the touch
Of someone that you love too much
Tender is the day
The demons go away
Lord I need to find
Someone who can heal my mind

Come on, come on, come on
Get through it
Come on, come on, come on
Loves the greatest thing
Come on, come on, come on
Get through it
Come on, come on, come on
Loves the greatest thing
That we have
Im waiting for that feeling
Im waiting for that feeling
Waiting for that feeling to come

Oh my baby
Oh my baby
Oh why
Oh my
X2

Tender is the ghost
The ghost I love the most
Hiding from the sun
Waiting for the night to come
Tender is my heart
For screwing up my life
Lord I need to find
Someone who can heal my mind

Come on, come on, come on
Get through it
Come on, come on, come on
Loves the greatest thing
Come on, come on, come on
Get through it
Come on, come on, come on
Loves the greatest thing
That we have
Im waiting for that feeling
Im waiting for that feeling
Waiting for that feeling to come

Oh my baby
Oh my baby
Oh why
Oh my
X2

Come on, come on, come on
Get through it
Come on, come on, come on
Loves the greatest thing
Come on, come on, come on
Get through it
Come on, come on, come on
Loves the greatest thing
That we have
Im waiting for that feeling
Im waiting for that feeling
Waiting for that feeling to come

Oh my baby
Oh my baby
Oh why
Oh my
X2

Tender is the night
Lying by your side
Tender is the touch
Of someone that you love too much
Tender is my heart you know
For screwing up my life
Oh lord I need to find
Someone who can heal my mind

Come on, come on, come on
Get through it
Come on, come on, come on
Loves the greatest thing
Come on, come on, come on
Get through it
Come on, come on, come on
Loves the greatest thing
That we have
Im waiting for that feeling
Im waiting for that feeling
Waiting for that feeling to come

Oh my baby
Oh my baby
Oh why
Oh my
X2

Enjoy “Parklife” from the band’s third album of the same name.

Mobile post sent by ChrisHanaka using Utterlireply-count Replies.  mp3

1 Comment

Filed under other

One response to “REUNION CONFIRMED: Blur to Play Hyde Park Show

  1. lifeinthekeyofme

    can I just say that BLUR is one of my favorite bands of all time and I’m happier than a pig in s*** about this. I’m tempted to fly out to see them at Hyde

Leave a Reply

