Dirty Projectors w/ David Byrne “Knotty Pine”

In a post earlier this week, The FADER highlighted the forthcoming compilation by The Red Hot Organization called Dark Was the Night which will be released February 17th in double-CD, triple-vinyl, and digital download formats.

Here’s the full tracklisting, including “Knotty Pine” included with this post:

  1. Knotty Pine – Dirty Projectors + David Byrne
  2. Cello Song (Nick Drake) – The Books featuring Jose Gonzalez
  3. Train Song (Vashti Bunyan recorded, written by Alasdair Clayre) – Feist + Ben Gibbard
  4. Brackett, WI – Bon Iver
  5. Deep Blue Sea – Grizzly Bear
  6. So Far Around the Bend – The National (arrangement by Nico Muhly)
  7. Tightrope – Yeasayer
  8. Feeling Good (popularized by Nina Simone) – My Brightest Diamond
  9. Dark Was the Night (Blind Willie Johnson) – Kronos Quartet
  10. I Was Young When I Left Home (Bob Dylan) – Antony + Bryce Dessner
  11. Big Red Machine – Justin Vernon + Aaron Dessner
  12. Sleepless – The Decemberists
  13. Stolen Houses (Die) – Iron and Wine
  14. Service Bell – Grizzly Bear + Feist
  15. You Are The Blood – Sufjan Stevens


  1. Well-Alright – Spoon
  2. Lenin – Arcade Fire
  3. Mimizan – Beirut
  4. El Caporal – My Morning Jacket
  5. Inspiration Information (Shuggie Otis) – Sharon Jones & The Dap-Kings
  6. With A Girl Like You (The Troggs) – Dave Sitek
  7. Blood Pt 2 (based on original song “You are the Blood” by the Castanets) – Buck 65 Remix (featuring Sufjan Stevens and Serengeti)
  8. Hey, Snow White (Destroyer) – The New Pornographers
  9. Gentle Hour (Snapper) – Yo La Tengo
  10. Another Saturday (traditional song) – Stuart Murdoch
  11. Happiness – Riceboy Sleeps
  12. Amazing Grace (traditional song) – Cat Power & Dirty Delta Blues
  13. The Giant Of Illinois (Handsome Family) – Andrew Bird
  14. Lua – Conor Oberst + Gillian Welch
  15. When the Road Runs Out – Blonde Redhead + Devastations
  16. Love vs. Porn – Kevin Drew

They’ll be previewing a new track each day, leading up to the release of the compilation, on MySpace so don’t be strangers.

Leave a comment

Filed under music

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s