New Band I’m Digging: Bombay Bicycle Club


Bombay Bicycle Club has been getting a lot of buzz lately as a result of their super digable “Always Like This”/”Always Like This (James Rutledge remix)”, from the Always Like This single (which isn’t yet available stateside), so I figure what better time now than to get a bit (thorough &) biographical (& historical).  BBC will release their debut full-length, I Had the Blues But I Shook Them Loose, July 9th via Island Records. The title comes from a line in the song “After Hours” by A Tribe Called Quest, from their 1990 album People’s Instinctive Travels and the Paths of Rhythm.

Although a track listing has not yet been revealed for the album, a sampler of the album has been distributed to radio stations. Tracks included in the sample are “Dust On The Ground”, “Lamplight”, “Magnet”, “Morning After” and single “Always Like This”.

Bombay Bicycle Club released their debut EP, The Boy I Used to Be, on February 12, 2007.  The band’s second EP, How We Are, was released on October 22, 2007.  The EP was produced by Jim Abbiss and was recorded and mixed by Richard Wilkinson at Konk Studios.  The band headlined their first UK tour in support of this release and the EP debuted at #2 on the UK Indie Singles Chart on November 5, 2007.

The bands first single, “Evening/Morning”, was released on August 5, 2008 – through Young and Lost Club. The single was produced by Jim Abbiss and was recorded and mixed by Richard Wilkinson at The Garden, London. The band embarked on a 23 date UK tour throughout July and August, this included festival appearances at the 2008 Reading and Leeds Festivals, the 2008 T in the Park Festival, The Edge Festival in Edinburgh, Scotland and the second Underage Festival.

Let’s get acquainted… and a special thanks to AllieCat for fencing some tunes.

Bombay Bicycle Club The Boy I Used to Be


  1. The Hill
  2. Sixteen
  3. Open House
  4. Cancel On Me

Bombay Bicycle Club How We Are


  1. How Are You
  2. Ghost
  3. Maybe More
  4. Pedestal

Bombay Bicycle Club Evening/Morning

bombay bicycle club evening/morningTracklisting:

  1. Evening/Morning
  2. You Already Know

Bombay Bicycle Club Always Like This

bombay bicycle club always like this



  1. “Always Like This (Thee Loving Hand Remix by Tim Goldsworthy)”
  2. “Always Like This (Album Version)”


  1. “Always Like This (James Rutledge Remix)”
  2. “Never Like That”

Bombay Bicycle Club I Had the Blues But I Shook Them Loose (2-Disc Deluxe Edition)




  1. Always Like This
  2. Dust on the Ground
  3. Lamplight
  4. Magnet
  5. Morning After
  6. Evening Morning
  7. You Already Know
  8. The Hill
  9. Sixteen
  10. Open House


  1. Cancel On Me
  2. How Are You
  3. Ghost
  4. Maybe More
  5. Pedestal
  6. Autumn
  7. If I Could
  8. What If
  9. Slow Song (Will You, Won’t You?)
  10. Always Like This (James Rutledge remix)


Filed under music

2 responses to “New Band I’m Digging: Bombay Bicycle Club

  1. Ally

    hey any chance you could reupload the how we were ep and the song you already know?

  2. Ally

    sorry i meant to write how we are

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s