Los Favoritos (2009)

… Some of my favorite record/song releases of 2009, in no particular order; I know I’m probably leaving a few other favorites off but these are the ones that first came to mind during this busy holiday season.

For those that have never compiled an end of the year best of list before, here’s how it works: a new song is released, one listens to it and thinks ‘this song is making my end of the year best of list’, and then, this same person listens to it over and over and over the remainder of the year. Yup, that’s how it works… When I look over each of the included records/songs of 2009, I can honestly say that’s precisely how it worked and probably why I blogged about each of them earlier in the year.

You can download each of the sample songs from my favorite record releases of the year in one folder here (right-click to save zip file to your desktop) and each of the favorite songs individually in the same fashion.

Happy New Year!

Fever Ray Fever Ray

I put my soul in what I do, last night I drew a funny man, with dark eyes and a hanging tongue, it goes way back, I never liked a sad look from someone who wants to be loved by you…

“When I Grow Up”

Animal Collective Merriweather Post Pavilion

It doesn’t really matter, I’ll go where you feel, hunt for the breeze, get a midnight meal, I point in the windows, you point out the parks, rip off your sleeves and I’ll ditch my socks…

“Summertime Clothes”

The Antlers Hospice

Well no one’s gonna fix it for us, no one can. You say that, ‘No one’s gonna listen, no one understands.’ So there’s no open doors and there’s no way to get through, there’s no other witnesses, just us two…

“Two”

Atlas Sound Logos

What did you want to see, what did you want to be, when you grew up…

“Walkabout”

The xx xx

I’ll take you in pieces, we can take it all apart, I’ve suffered shipwrecks right from the start, I’ve been underwater, breathing out and in, I think I’m losing where you end and I begin…

“Crystalized”

“Basic Space”

Handsome Furs Face Control

There was a guy who came in from the cold but he’s never gonna get past face control, I don’t know but I’ve been told…

“Talking Hotel Arbat Blues”

“All We Want, Baby, Is Everything”

Matt and Kim Grand

I have five clocks in my life and only one has the time right, I’ll just unplug it for today, I’ll just unplug it for today…

“Daylight”

“Good Ol’ Fashioned Nightmare”

“Lessons Learned”

Surf City Surf City EP

“Headin’ Inside”

“Records of a Flagpole Skater”

“Dickshakers Union”

The Very Best Warm Heart of Africa

The Very Best “Kamphopo”

St. Vincent Actor

“Marrow”

Edward Sharpe & Magnetic Zeros Up From Below

I follow you into the park, thru the jungle, thru the dark, girl, I ain’t never loved one like you… Moats and boats and waterfalls, alleyways and payphone calls, I’ve been everywhere with you…

“Home”

“40 Day Dream”

La Roux La Roux

“In For The Kill (Lifelike remix)”

Marina & the Diamonds The Crown Jewels

“Obsessions”

“I Am Not A Robot”

The Drums *various releases & Summertime EP

All I can see is your beautiful lies, all I can see is your beautiful lies…

“Instruct Me”

Black Dice Repo

“Nite Creme”

“Glazin”

Kurt Vile Childish Prodigy

“Hunchback”

Here’s some of my favorite songs of 2009, this list is definitely not complete but it’s a good start anyway and, again, in no particular order:

Yeasayer “Ambling Alp”

Cold Cave “Life Magazine”

Modest Mouse “Whale Song”

The Big Pink “Too Young To Love”

The Avett Brothers “I and Love and You”

The Double “Spectral”

Band of Skulls “I Know What I Am”

Band of Skulls “Cold Fame”

Bachelorette “The National Grid”

Blakroc “Ain’t Nothing Like You (Hoochie Coo)”

The Soft Pack “Walking With Jesus”

The Legends “Play It For Today”

New Villager “Rich Doors”

Crystal Stilts “Love Is A Wave”

Dead Man’s Bones “My Body’s A Zombie For You”

White Rabbits “Percussion Gun”

Cymbals Eat Guitars “And The Hazy Sea”

M. Ward “To Save Me (feat. Jason Lytle)”

Harlem Shakes “Strictly Game”

BOAT “We Want It! We Want It!”

The Thermals “Now We Can See”

Royksopp (w/ Lykke Li) “Miss It So Much”

Portugal. The Man “Do You”

Portugal. The Man “Work All Day”

Yeah Yeah Yeahs “Skeletons”

Phantogram “Mouthful of Diamonds”

Bon Iver “Blood Bank”

Small Black “Despicable Dogs”

Grizzly Bear “Two Weeks”

Andrew Bird “Oh No”

These United States “I Want You To Keep Everything”

Fool’s Gold “Surprise Hotel”

Neon Indian “Local Joke”

Roadside Graves “Far and Wide”

4 Comments

Filed under music

4 responses to “Los Favoritos (2009)

  1. Brooks

    Thanks for all the music!

  2. Rachel

    Good list! I know that Cold Cave song from somewhere.

  3. Drestu

    Yipee! Best Christmas present ever!

  4. Pingback: The Drums New Music & LP Review « Chris Hanaka

Leave a Reply

